Publishing of The 1965 Project as a Book

The 1965 Project is the story of how historical events in 1965 influenced and changed the music released in 1965. The evolution of music throughout 1965 is stunning. From traditional, bright and simple songs in early-1965 to complex, dark and chaotic sounds in late 1965. What happened? Why did the foremost talents of the era – The Rolling Stones, Bob Dylan, The Beatles, John Coltrane, The Kinks, James Brown – evolve so quickly and so dramatically?

The answer lies in the corresponding historical events. Racial discrimination and The Vietnam War. Assassinations, protests and deadly riots. The advent of color television and the liberalization of society and culture. Freedom of expression and introspection in music. Drugs and despair. History intersected with music and directly affected the psyche and creativity of the product.

Each chapter of The 1965 Project is a month in 1965, chronicling the historical events that occurred in the month and detailing the music released in that same month. The 1965 Project is a quick and easy read and a must for fans of Bob Dylan, The Beatles, The Kinks, Jimi Hendrix, The Rolling Stones, Otis Redding, Marvin Gaye, The Beach Boys and, eventually, The Velvet Underground, The Grateful Dead and Neil Young.

The book version differs a bit from the blog version, as more text has been added and the themes realized later in the year are foreshadowed more explicitly in the early chapters. Hopefully, you’ll support the effort and even if you have read all of the posts, you’ll revisit the text in its new form (http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=the+1965+project). Thanks very much.

The 1965 Project is essentially a concept. Fusing history and music. Or, acknowledging the effect of history on music. The year 1965 is of particular interest because the year commenced under sunny skies and closed under dark clouds. That change is the core.

Later years, 1968 for example, started under black clouds and ended under black clouds – however, interestingly – 1968 included epic thunderstorms and devastating tornados that forever damaged and stained the fabric of our country (stay tuned). 

Ultimately, though, The 1965 Project is a book about music. There’s enough information about the historical events to inform the evolution of the music. With the rewrites that I noted above, I encourage each of you to read through the published version of The 1965 Project – I think you’ll enjoy the flow and it may provide an opportunity to skip to the artists and records you enjoy most and reengage a bit.

Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/1965-Project-Intersection-History-Music/dp/1530747635/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1463161392&sr=8-1&keywords=the+1965+project

Kindle: https://www.amazon.com/1965-Project-Intersection-History-Music-ebook/dp/B01FKMFW8W?ie=UTF8&keywords=the%201965%20project&qid=1463161392&ref_=sr_1_2&sr=8-2 

Thanks for the support and please share with those that you think may enjoy the topic. And, give each of Pet Sounds and Blonde on Blonde a spin.
 

Standard